Happy Feet

I don’t know about you, but there are a couple of things that make me deliriously happy. Dancing is one of them. Ballet did when I was little. Today, I prefer Solo Charleston and Authentic Jazz. Swing in general owns my heart, in all shapes and styles. I love the music, the moves and steps. The 1930s and 40s, what a lovely era (at least for movies, fashion and Jazz).

For all you non-hoofers, this is Balboa, for example.

It’s more elegant than Lindy Hop and a lot less “acrobatic”.

Another Swing variation is the Lindy Charleston, basically my favorite dance paired with some Lindy moves.The Lindy Charleston (the name already suggests it) was based on the original Charleston danced by flappers in the Roaring Twenties.

Authentic Jazz – another solo dance – is more freestyle…

…while the Tranky Doo is a Jazz Dance choreography masterminded by Pepsi Bethel in the 1940s and typically performed to Ella Fitzgereald’s Dipsy Doodle song.

Last but not least on my (incomplete) introductory list stands the Shim Sham.

Are you dancing yet?! I know I am and one day (soon) I hope to have happy feet like these swell fellas.

In the meantime, SORRY darling neighbors for all the swiveling, jumping and kicking. It’s not a quake, it’s just the Jitterbug!

Leave a Reply

