Academy Awards 2013

Although I’ve long given up on watching awards, it’s always interesting to see who won an Oscar after all. No real surprises on the winners list for me this year and no gem like last year’s The Artist. Had Emmanuelle Riva won, I’d be a little more enthusiastic but that’s not how it works in Hollywood. I’m considerably happy about Argo though and think it’s great that Adele got a nod from the Academy.

Here’s the list for y’all, my fellow film enthusiasts, to find your personal favorites. As usual, you can find more on Oscar.com.

  • Best Picture: Argo
  • Best Actor: Daniel Day-Lewis, Lincoln
  • Best Actress: Jennifer Lawrence, Silver Linings Playbook
  • Best Supporting Actor: Christoph Waltz, Django Unchained
  • Best Supporting Actress: Anne Hathaway, Les Miserables
  • Best Director: Ang Lee, Life of Pi
  • Best Foreign Language Film: Amour
  • Best Adapted Screenplay: Chris Terrio, Argo
  • Best Original Screenplay: Quentin Tarantino, Django Unchained
  • Best Animated Feature Film: Brave
  • Best Cinematography: Life of Pi
  • Best Original Score: Mychael Danna, Life of Pi
  • Best Original Song: Adele Adkins and Paul Epworth, “Skyfall” from Skyfall
  • Best Costume: Anna Karenina
2 thoughts on “Academy Awards 2013

  1. I caught a bit of this show and was disturbed by several things but these are the major ones: 1) that I actually watched even a bit of it, considering my steadfast belief that the Hollywood of the last several decades has been one of two prime drivers in the deterioration of American/Westernculture and 2) that once again ( twice since January in big ratings grabbers, the Super Bowl and the Oscars) Hollywood/entertainment industry and DC have joined forces to promote political aims. Is there no field safe from such intrusions?

    It had been years since I tuned in and this year, I thought I’d give it a brief look (we’ve rented only three or four movies in the last 5 years) but doing so showed me why I really can’t stand Hollywood’s sycophantic and group-think mentality.

    No more. A shame.

    • I’m sorry to hear you tuned in only to get so disappointed.
      Like you, I’ve also long stopped watching the show although I once greatly enjoyed it. I’d really like to enjoy it again in the future. We’ll see…

Leave a Reply

