Academy Awards 2012

This is the out-of-the-ordinary post about the Oscars, a show that always comes with a lot of emotions, deserving recipients and a whole bunch of silver medalists (because it’s already a boost to be nominated).

So who are the lucky winners?! I’m sure you’ve all already heard it but I’m still as excited as can be:

  • Best Film: The Artist
  • Best Director: Michel Hazanavicius (The Artist)
  • Best Actress: Meryl Streep (The Iron Lady)
  • Best Actor: Jean Dujardin (The Artist)
  • Best Supporting Actress: Octavia Spencer (The Help)
  • Best Supporting Actor: Christopher Plummer (Beginners)
  • Best Original Screenplay: Woody Allen (Midnight in Paris)
  • Best Song: Man or Muppet (The Muppets)
  • Best Score: Ludovic Bource (The Artist)
  • Best Costume Design: The Artist

That makes ten favorites of mine in my top ten categories. I never thought I’d get to see this – I mean, what are the odds?! But 2012 had big love for new vintage and retro, including a nine-time Oscar host to run the show.

So I’m raising my glass to toast to The Artist as the first silent movie that won Best Picture since 1929. I know it’s ingenuous to hope for a long-term revival of class, simplicity and style, but right now I want to celebrate the overwhelming reception of a film that has won over critics, movie makers and a worldwide audience alike. Congratulations to Michel Hazanavicius and his team, and thanks for creating this gem of a true modern classic.

Leave a Reply

